PLUM Committee Recommends Landmark Status for Hollywood Reporter Bldg

ImageThe Art Deco Society has been engaged in a six month quest to get a Cultural Heritage Monument nomination approved for The Hollywood Reporter Building, located at 6715 Sunset Boulevard in Hollywood.

We are pleased to announce that the result of our Tuesday, October 31st hearing with the Planning and Land Use Management Committee (comprised of 5 City Council Members), otherwise known as PLUM, was VERY positive. The building is in Council District 13 (otherwise known as CD13) and the new planning director, Craig Bullock was in attendance to speak on behalf of CD13 Council Member Mitch O'Farrell. Bullock expressed his council office's SUPPORT of our nomination! O'Farrell is not on the PLUM committee, but since the building is in his district, his endorsement of our efforts to landmark the building was very important.

In this 1930s photo from the Wilkerson Archives you can see the windows used to display hats at Sunset House, a high end store for men's furnishings that last only briefly in the building.

ADSLA gratefully acknowledges those who took time out of their day to come downtown on Halloween to speak in support of the nomination! Bill Higgins officially represented The Hollywood Reporter newspaper (which still publishes today from a mid-Wilshire location) and expressed the industry trade paper's support of the nomination. He read a statement of support from Willie Wilkerson, whose father Billy Wilkerson founded the paper and owned the building until his death in 1962 (it stayed in the family until his wife died in 2004). Scroll down to our links to media articles for a story involving F. Scott Fitzgerald's visit to this building!

Other speakers included: ADSLA Preservation Committee & Past Board Member, Jeff Bissiri; Preservationist Eric Evavold; The LA Conservancy's Adrian Scott Fine; Preservationist Charles Fisher, ADSLA President Margot Gerber; ADSLA VP Celeste Hong; Susan Hunter of the LA Tenant's Union; Hollywood Heritage Board Member Kevin Jordan; Preservationist Steve Luftman, Historian Nathan Marsak, ADSLA Board Member Nicole Marsak and ADSLA Board member Pauline O'Connor.